8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 11, 2012 7:24 AM by lieberrian@yahoo.com RSS

Common Core Standards

cgardne Master
Currently Being Moderated

As more and more states move toward Common Core Standards, what positive effects will take place?  Will there be negative effects?  Will there be educational changes?  What might those be?  Please share your thoughts with our community.

• Re: Common Core Standards
    glen_w Master

Carolyn,

The most positive change I see is for students like me. I moved 16 times before I graduated from High School. Most years, I changed schools mid-year. I usually was frustrated trying to figure out what I was supposed to be learning. We often were farther along than I had been (or learning something I learned previously.) Personally, I hope no child ever has to be in the same situation I was in .

One of the challenges I have already heard about is strange... I just heard an English teacher say she and the other Language Arts teachers at her school were teaching BOTH the previous core and the new Common Core. Apparently, they are not yet ready to give up something to make the adjustment. I hope most teachers are willing to make the change (even if change is difficult.)

blancaedu Master

Glen,

I agree that one positive aspect is that children who have to move year to year will find more consistent instruction. I'm not sure I understand how teachers can teach both the previous core and the new common core.