23 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2012 6:31 AM by azneil RSS

Testing in Kindergarten?

szajj@emints.org Master
Currently Being Moderated

I Came across this article today and I would love to hear your thoughts: mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSBRE88O05Y20120925?irpc=932.

As an educator, this article really bothers me. As an early childhood teacher, I find it disgusting and unnerving. It goes against everything I believe about learning for young children. Thoughts?

• Re: Testing in Kindergarten?
    megore@uncg.edu Newbie

you make a fantastic point here, I personally believe that the idea of mandatory testing for children around the ages of 5 to 6 is completely absurd. We already put enough stress on children and their learning. Kids need time to develop socially and find out who they are before the world starts telling them who and what they should be. Testing on children that young, I feel, is going to take away their childhood an innocence faster than society has already began to take it.

glen_w Master

Julie,

I always viewed Kindergarten as an exploratory opportunity. Students at this age learn as they discover their world. I wonder how this attempt to "evaluate teachers" will help these young students.

I'm concerned when testing to identify the "quality of teachers" takes away from what is often mentioned as the need for good teachers. Students learn DIFFERENTLY. Good and great teachers take advantage of this by providing multiple learning opportunities in the classroom. Do you think these tests accurately take into account the learning styles students inherently have?

szajj@emints.org Master