6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2012 1:16 AM by berging_76

Digital Learning Day

Hello everybody!

Well, I love the way my 2nd grade students respond to digital technology. My latest discovery is the Ladybug software on the Innovation stations. (Last year I was in another classroom and I didn't have a IS to experiment with. So, even I had some training on it, this is my first year with an IS.) Anyway, I used the photo feature on it to show students before and after pictures of how during division you start with a big group, and you end up with smaller/equal groups. We added text and number sentences with the same software. So, I gave new examples and had pairs come and show how they solved the division problem. so now I have the before and after photos of the student's work posted as an anchor of support on our Math Bulletin board.

So now my weekly goal is to use this software to increase student participation and motivation in more subjects.

As a broader goal, I'd like to introduce or remind my team about this software. I'm afraid very few know about it, and those who know about it have not explored all the options is offers. So for Digital Learning Day, I'd like to propose to my team to apply their IS's a little beyond what they are using it now.

Thanks,

Brenda

• Re: Digital Learning Day
          vkajones

Good plan to get more of your team involved in using emerging technologies. Let us know how it goes.

Vanessa

Nasiraa