16 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2009 9:26 AM by sandee

What is your favorite teacher movie?

MrsSmoke

We all love a great teacher movie, but we're curious to know which titles are your favorites?  For me, it's Dead Poet's Society, but I'm an English teacher, so I'm a bit biased.  What's your favorite?

• Re: What is your favorite teacher movie?
          glen_w

While I am NOT a Math teacher - my favorite movie is "Stand and Deliver." I find inspiration as I watch a teacher believe in his students and their abilities. Since first viewing it, I've tried to have the same confidence, encouragement, and enthusiasm for my students.

Let's keep this going - I'm interested in the thinking of others on this!

My favorite teacher movie is Music of the Heart with Meryl Streep. It is the story of a teacher who goes to an inner-city Harlem school and tries to teach the kids to play the violin. She does this, giving the kids a gift they could never imagine. It is just a very inspiring story to me.

julesfischy

It is too hard to pick just one teacher movie - I like to think that there are scenes in many movies that have lessons that can be learned- not all of these are pure “teacher” movies

• Scent of a Woman – dealing with truth
              • To Sir with Love – first film that I watched to make educational connections
              • For motivating students – Dangerous Minds & Freedom Writers
              • Lean on Me – with Morgan Freeman – a look at the role of a principle in an inner city school- I just loved when he chained the gym – what a great message academics before athletics
              • Mr. Holland’s Opus – what a great story

Of course I too love Dead Poet’s Society and Stand and Deliver

Julia