15 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2011 5:36 PM by dchurch@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Asking the right Questions

vkajones

As I was reading the article: Asking the Essential Questions: Curriculum Development, it made me think of all the wonderful Essential Questions I have heard. Since I do a lot with digital storytelling, my favorite one that I use is  "Who Am I?"

What are some of your favorite Essential Questions that you use in your classroom or have heard from your PTs or MTs?

Vanessa

• Re: Asking the right Questions

Vanessa, I just had a teacher from Scottsdale, AZ come up with "Why did you say that?"  As a parent and teacher, I can't count the number of times I've said that!  I had to laugh, but I think it's a great question.

Neil

JulieSzaj

Vanessa,

I think some of my favorites are:

How do you measure freedom?

How does the past help us understand who we are today?

What is balance?

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              fbobo

Hello Vanessa

I have some pictures I have taken while overseas and in remote areas in Central America.  I find many uses of these in the science classroom. I often ask the question: " Where in the universe am  I?". The responses are amazing.

tdiener

I'd like to see Essential Questions on Essential Tee Shirts...Pick a handful of Questions and have them printed on tee shirts.

whoj.jpg

howj.jpg

teej.jpg

Good question, Vanessa!

Social Studies is like the stepchild in schools, especially since the pressures of NCLB. If it is taught like I was "taught," I can understand why, but schools are frequently being slammed because students can't answer questions about history. Part of the problem is that learning simply names and dates is basically useless and meaningless.

The most important questions are "Why did that happen?" "Why did they do that?" and "So, what?" As they try to answer these questions, they begin to make associations and connections (i.e. meaning).