3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2011 11:38 AM by tlmaves

Got an answer? Essentials and the choir teacher

tlmaves

Is implementing effective technology applicable to all teachers? What about the choir teacher? The physical education teacher? What is your response to the following:

My district is requiring me to take the Intel Teach Program  Essentials Course during the summer. I am a choir teacher. What research and  experience do you have with how choir teachers (not general music teachers or  music theory teachers) are using this in the classroom and that it is effective?  I am looking at the collaborative element (I have no one with whom to  collaborate) and the daunting amount of homework required and I am extremely  skeptical.

The first thing I thought of was the hit series, Glee. The teacher portrayed is always assigning his students research and projects about the music they sing.

Any first hand experience out there?

• Re: Got an answer Essentials and the choir teacher

Theresa, I am a retired band director and would love to help the choir director.  I did one on music careers which involved the students "putting on a concert" as it were.  I have also had students rewrite lyrics to popular songs, create costumes and staging for a 5th grade state project.  After we did that the classes created a music video, with the lip sincing (???) and everything.

Neil

• Re: Got an answer? Essentials and the choir teacher