7 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2010 3:14 PM by tlmaves

Got an answer? Essentials and the choir teacher

tlmaves

Is implementing effective technology applicable to all teachers? What about the choir teacher? The physical education teacher? What is your response to the following:

My district is requiring me to take the Intel Teach Program  Essentials Course during the summer. I am a choir teacher. What research and  experience do you have with how choir teachers (not general music teachers or  music theory teachers) are using this in the classroom and that it is effective?  I am looking at the collaborative element (I have no one with whom to  collaborate) and the daunting amount of homework required and I am extremely skeptical.

The first thing I thought of was the hit series, Glee. The teacher portrayed is always assigning his students research and projects about the music they sing.

Any first hand experience out there?

• Re: Got an answer? Essentials and the choir teacher

Theresa, OK, let's try this again.  During my last year in the classroom, I was working with the fifth grade teachers on their "States" project.  When the students came to music class, they researched the state they had been assigned.  I then had the students pick a song of their choosing and then they rewrote the words to the song with information about the state.  I got permission to download Karaoke music from iTunes for this.  I even had one very talented young man compose his own music and then accompanied his group on the piano.   I then had the students lay down an audio track with them singing the words to the Karaoke music.  Once that was done, the students created the scenery for their video, brought in or created costumes for the video and finally created the video.  We turned up the music really loud and the students lipped synced to the music.  After that, we made a DVD for the kids.  It was great fun.