8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2010 11:53 AM by jkesl@wi.rr.com

Computer Science

Bonnie Feather

I have just completed 4 days at MIT, attending a conference on Scratch.  Scratch is a very kid-friendly (but still very powerful) open source program.  It uses blocks to program an area of the screen which can have characters (sprites) animated, talking, thinking, and so on.  It can program music, other sounds, and your own recordings.  It can be used to create art projects.

I've been using Scratch for several years (it's only 3 or 4 years old) and trying to interest teachers in it.  It's usually easier for me to find students interested in using it than teachers, and other trainers at this conference are having the same experience.

I was often "in over my head" in the past 4 days, but I learned SO MUCH!  I met and spoke with students (6th & 8th grade) who have been programming with Scratch for several years.  One has programmed "fractal music" using fractals he defines in Scratch!  Another is more of an artist and uses Scratch to draw and gets programming help from other students.

I will continue to try to interest teachers and students in this program, but I wanted to share some resources with my Intel Buddies and ask a couple of questions:

1. Do you teach/use principles of computer science (programming) in your curriculum?

2. How would you react to a student using something like this to complete assignments in your class or do extensions?

3. Do you have lessons/ projects to share?

4. Can you add your experiences with other programming applications, such as Alice, Lego NXT, etc.?

5. Have you had projects developed in your Intel trainings which utilize computer science?  (Scratch, Alice, Lego NXT, etc...)

6. What does it all mean?

I am planning to reply to this post and share some of the resources I learned about at the conference.  I look forward to seeing what others share!

• Computer Science
          Bonnie Feather