11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2010 7:46 AM by Bowerman@cox.net

Parent-Teacher Conferences

Bowerman@cox.net

As parent-teacher-student conferences begin, I think about each role I've had in this annual ritual. As a student, I waited anxiously at home for my mom to return home and fill me in on what the teacher said. As a parent, I always quizzed my sons before heading off to school, hoping that the report I heard there was the same as the ones I heard from my sons. As a teacher, I try to change this cycle by providing parents with electronic information - an updated webpage with homework, newsletters, schedules, and student web pages with their work. My parents also have access to their child's grades, attendance, and schedule through a parent portal. Email and texts connect us on a regular basis. More importantly, my parent conference are really student-parent-teacher conferences with students leading the way. The children share their work and set goals with their parents for the next quarter. They also share their electronic portfolios - collection of the work they have done during the quarter. Technology plays such an important part of my communication with parents. How do you use technology to communicate and share information with parents? How are students involved in the conference process in your classroom?

• Re: Parent-Teacher Conferences
          tdiener

Margaret, I really like when you say: "The children share their work and set goals with their parents for the next quarter." How good is that! Electronic communication tools have certainly provided feed-back loops I never could have imagined just a short time ago. I'd be interested to know what tools are used to share student data with parents. Here in NY, the most popular student management systems are: ESchool Data, Infinite Campus, and PowerSchool.

julesfischy