6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2010 9:01 AM by KristyBoo

Intregrating Intel with Place Value Understanding

Greetings to all! I am an elementary math coach. I am noticing a trend that our students are having difficulty linking factual and procedural knowledge to conceptual and metacognitive knowledge. I am looking for ways to help bridge that gap. I am new to intel and would love any ideas or strategies you can share. Thanks in advance.

• Re: Intregrating Intel with Place Value Understanding
          Bonnie Feather

Can you do a little break-down of their successes and skills- like an old-fashioned task-analysis?  What is the indicator to you that they don't have the conceptual knowledge?  What kinds of metacognitive tasks have you assigned and what are their responses?

Have you used the concepts (reall, have THEY used) in some Project-Based Learning tasks?

There are some great math folks here.  With more detail, I'm sure you will get some good tips.

~Bonnie

Thanks for your response. You have asked great guiding questions that I will use for my teachers. I can give you an example where I feel there is a disconnect.  A student may be able to recite their multiplication facts, however is they are needed to use that same multiplication fact to answer a word problem the student is unable to answer the question. The student is not able to make the connection between what is means to multiply and  how to apply that knowledge to solve a problem. In regards to problem based learning, there some some components that are being used. I definitely feel that is an area that could use more development. Thanks.