11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2011 3:55 PM by lmorse

Kindergarten Teachers: Any ideas for a good TWT Unit Plan topic for Kindergarten?

Help!  I've just begun taking Thinking with Technology course and I'm trying to decide on a unit plan that will be good for a beginner to writing TWT Units.  I teach kindergarten at an indepenent school who has been working diligently for years towards becoming an IB school authorized in the PYP model. (Primary Years Program).  Since IB model is inquiry based instruction, I am wondering if trying to tie in this TWT Unit to one of my PYP units is a good idea.  Which discipline is the best to start with for unit writing with TWT?

• Re: Kindergarten Teachers: Any ideas for a good TWT Unit Plan topic for Kindergarten?
          tlmaves

First of all, you already have my respect because you are a kindergarten teacher. I have a 4 yr. old grandson who reminds me that even though I was a teacher for 17 years, I can't imagine being very successful in teaching these little guys; give me those snarky 8th graders!

I do know that several kindergarten and 1st grade teachers have used Visual Ranking successfully and have designed some effective adapatations for this younger group. I definitely think using one of your current PYP units is a good starting place. Is there a unit that you aren't quite happy with or seems a little flat? Integrating a tool like Visual Ranking can elevate the thinking skills of your students while providing a collaborative learning environment.

That's all I got...I'll leave this thread for the real experts to weigh in

• Re: Kindergarten Teachers: Any ideas for a good TWT Unit Plan topic for Kindergarten?
            Bowerman@cox.net